Santa Ana

Santa Ana-

It’s the winds that blew
Through the valley each year
Obliterating fences and trees

It’s the days of adventure
90 south against blue skies
Follow signs for Santa Ana
The fondest memories were these

It’s the home where he resided
To bring me in for grins
I was but eighteen acting twenty
And each kiss of his I seized

It’s the anticipation in dread
Of sights that awaken my fears to
A place young hearts did die
Please rid me of my cries, please 

He was the Santa Ana winds
And this year we met in person
Halted all adventures because he
Struck me down harder
Than just a breeze
Leave a Reply

