The Bench

The bench.
Where I sat the
first
week of school, quickly hopping up
to play volleyball with new found
friends under the setting sun as
sand swirled through the warm breeze.
The bench where I waited nonchalantly
with my new best friend the
second
month of school, as scorching afternoons
turned to gentle sunlit hugs, until he
picked me up to tell me
three
more weeks of lies as I endured
four
refills of antibiotics with disappointed
eyes, stinging, in cold angry winds, given
no
definite number as to when the sickness
would end.
Today I stride by that bench,
fifth
month of school, same friend in tow, to
strip off old pains and bask under the
closure of a warmer January afternoon –
almost as warm as it will be in June,
six
months into the new year.

.

Leave a Reply

